About the 39th ESRA Annual Congress

This meeting format will encourage interactivity, framed by your input, commitment and pro-action. We have created a high-quality scientific program, modified and focused on promoting networking between speakers and the audience, which is considered of utmost importance. The scientific standard of the ESRA Annual Congress is now recognized as one of the best in the world presented by ‘world-renowned’ speakers, and as a result carries a high rating with the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education. In this context, we have planned:

  • instructional refresher course lectures
  • networking sessions and symposia
  • panel discussions
  • pro/con debates
  • interactive expert exchange sessions and second opinion discussions
  • luncheon sessions
  • special hands-on clinical workshops, including cadaver workshops once, and of course
  • free paper and E-Poster sessions. Residents are invited to submit their papers for inclusion in the ESRA Resident Best Free Paper and the ESRA Best Abstract Award competitions.

Other sessions will include Complex Case Discussions, as well as the new 360o Simulation Sessions. 

ESRA Committees

Major Officers


Thomas Volk

Past President

Alain Delbos

General Secretary

Clara Lobo
United Arab Emirates


Eleni Moka

ESRA Officers

  • Eric Albrecht, Switzerland
  • Enrico Barbara, Italy
  • Dan-Sebastian Dirzu, Romania
  • Philippe Gautier, Belgium
  • Yavuz Gurkan, Turkey
  • Luis Valdés, Spain
  • Morné Wolmarans, United Kingdom
  • Maria Tileli, Residents & Trainees Representative

Scientific Committee

Chair (Past President)
Alain Delbos


Vice-Chair (President)
Thomas Volk


Chairs of the Cadaver Workshops
Paul Kessler and Peter Merjavy


Chair Of The Hands-On Clinical Workshops
José Aguirre



  • Eric Albrecht
  • Steve Coppens
  • Brian Kinirons
  • Andrzej Krol
  • Eleni Moka

Local Organizing Committee

  • Aikaterini Amaniti
  • Souzana Anisoglou
  • Varvara Fyntanidou
  • Eleni Koraki
  • Alexandros Makris
  • Kassiani Theodoraki 

Cadaver Workshops Local Organizing Committee

Department of Anatomy & Surgical Anatomy

School of Medicine, Faculty of Health Sciences, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki

  • Georgios Paraskevas
  • Konstantinos Natsis
  • Nikolaos Anastasopoulos
  • Nikolaos Lazaridis
  • Eirini Asouchidou
  • Ioannis Mykoniatis


With the kind support of:


Department of Forensic Medicine & Toxicology

School of Medicine, Faculty of Health Sciences, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki

  • Nikolaos Raikos, Professor

Department of Forensic Service of Ministry of Justice of Thessaloniki

  • Eleni Zaggelidou, Director

Main Reasons to Attend

  • 4 day congress gathering International Key Opinion Leaders together with 2,000 European anaesthesiologists and specialists for pain therapy.
  • High quality content driven agenda
  • Continuous hands-on program during all the congress in five parallel halls
  • Pleasure to meet and to have fun together thanks to a Fun Run or the networking events